385. The next postal conference was held in Paris in May, 1878, Admission when the Dominion of Canada was admitted a member from the of Canada into the following 1st July, and letters, newspapers and other printed matter, Union, samples and patterns, became subject to uniform postage rates and regulations for all places in Europe, and for all other countries that were members of the union. The existing postal arrangements with the United States were allowed to remain undisturbed, being of a more liberal and advantageous character than the ordinary regulations of the treaty. At this meeting the regulations of the treaty of 1874 were revised and embodied in a convention which came into force on 1st April, 1879.

386. The third conference was held at Lisbon, in February, 1885, Third and Canada was represented by the delegates of the British post office. meeting of the Union. No material change was made in the convention of 1879.

387. The fourth conference was held at Vienna, in May, 1891, and Fourth Canada was represented by the High Commissioner at London, Hon. meeting. Sir Charles Tupper, Bart., G.C.M.G. At this meeting the admission of the Australasian colonies was agreed upon, and those countries joined the union on 1st October, 1891. A number of measures, all tending towards facilitating the transmission of correspondence, were agreed upon. The next meeting will be held at Washington, D.C., United States.

388. The union now includes almost every civilized country in the Countries world, being composed of the following :- The whole of Europe; the composing the Union. whole of America; in Asia-Russia in Asia, Turkey in Asia, Persia, British India (Hindustan, Burmah and the postal establishments at Aden, Mascat and Guadur) Japan, Siam, the British, French, Dutch, Spanish and Portuguese colonies and the British, French, German and Japanese postal establishments in China and Corea. In Africa-Egypt, Algeria, Tripoli, Tunis, Liberia, Congo Free State, the Azores, Madeira, the postal establishments of India and France at Zanzibar, the French, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish colonies, some of the British colonies, the Orange Free State, all the territories under the protectorate of Germany and the French postal establishment at Tamatave (Madagascar). In Australasia and Oceania-the British colonies on the continent, Tasmania, New Zealand, Fiji, British and German New Guinea, Hawaii, the Marshall Islands and the French. Dutch and Spanish colonies.*

389. A central office under the name of "Bureau International Area of de l'Union Postale" has been established at Berne, at the cost of the ^{Union.} various countries composing the Union. At the time that the treaty of Berne came into force, 1st July, 1875, the jurisdiction of the Union extended over an area of about 14,293,750 square miles, with upwards of 350 millions of inhabitants, whereas it now extends over an area of 37,087,500 square miles and 975 millions of inhabitants.*

* Almanach de Gotha, 1893.